Dr. Heaven Fan is a professional harpist and the director of the Harp Program at Anderson University. She was a faculty member in the Orchestra Program during the 2010 and 2011 MasterWorks Festivals. She currently resides in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Jessica: What are/were your favorite aspects of MasterWorks?

Heaven: Wonderful concerts, prayers throughout the festival, the loving and supportive atmosphere, and the unforgettable sharing and insight during the bible studies.

Jessica: Describe your current career and any updates or news you’d like to share.

Heaven: I am currently teaching/directing the Harp program at Anderson University in Anderson, Indiana. Some of the future activities include a paper being published in the upcoming American Harp Journal in the 2012 Winter Issue, judging the 2012 Young Artist’s Harp Competition held in Rabun Gap, GA, and a new CD release at the end of 2012 (sponsored by the Art Council of Indianapolis and Lilly Endowment Inc. as a prize winner of the Creative Renewal Arts Fellowship Award).

 

Jessica: What goals have you set for your personal life?

Heaven: I think the ultimate goal for me is to have God’s favor and His grace in every aspect of my life. To achieve this goal, I have to know Him, His word, and His plan for me and walk faithfully and diligently with Him every day. In other words, my goal is to use my time, energy, and talent to the fullest for His glory.

Jessica: How have your personal and career goals and expectations changed over the years?

Heaven: I used to believe that I could do all things by “myself” and “my” own plan, and I could be satisfied by instant success such as winning competitions. but as I grow older, I realized that I can do “nothing” by myself and nothing instant can really satisfy my soul. God has taught me over the years to “wait”upon Him and “rely” on Him. Becoming dependent of God and waiting for God’s timing have been the most important lessons for me. Just as Psalm 127:1 declares, “Unless the Lord builds the house, the builders labor in vain. Unless the Lord watches over the city, the guards stand watch in vain.” I have learned that without following God’s footsteps, we can achieve nothing. When we faithfully walk with God, He blesses us with “riches and honor and life” {Proverbs 22:4).

Jessica: Do you have any words of encouragement or advice you would like to share with the MasterWorks Blog readers?

Heaven: Prayerfully do everything we can, but at the same time acknowledge Him in all the things we do (Proverbs 3:6 “In all your ways submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight.”). Also, Psalm 27:14 says “Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart, and wait for the Lord.” It is not easy for us to wait for the Lord. But God tells us to be strong and take heart. It is actually comforting to know that God is more desirous than all of us of accomplishing His own will. So as long as we do our part (in His will), He will give us the fruitful result of our labor.

Jessica: What has the Lord been teaching you recently?

Heaven: Don’t count the days. Make each day count. “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord.” (Colossians 3:23)

Jessica: Favorites: Movies, Style of Music, Food, and Place to Travel?

Heaven:
Movie: Disney movies (ha!)
Style of Music: Classical
Food: Anything delicious
Place to Travel: Europe and Asia

MasterWorks Festival – Blog.

